Exclusive Interview Nia Andrews: Performing live is a relationship! I expect the audience to engage as I do!

Music is something special. It’s great to discover new artists, listen them performing live. It’s a relationship! And when an artist is as good as Nia Andrews then it’s a really beautiful relationship! She is young, she is very talented and beautiful! It’s really beautiful to listen her angel voice! It’s also beautiful to read all these amazing things she said to us! It’s so beautiful to have Nia on Poping Cherry! (Interview: John Vlachogiannis)

Who is Nia Andrews?

Nia Andrews is an everyday girl, a student and lover of music, an accidental writer, who was born and raised in Los Angeles, CA.

Your voice is a gift of God! How you feel to be such a talented singer? You are working on your first album right now. How you feel and what you expect from the future?

Thank you! I am still growing into my voice and how it sounds. My vocal instrument is still very young having been singing for a relatively short time. I’m growing so much, and so fast, and it’s very exciting. That said I expect to simply do my best, learn lots, and give it all I’ve got, all the time.

What do you remember most strongly from your childhood? What are your fondest musical memories? 

Eesh, I have quite an elephant memory. This question brings about an onslaught of random childhood memories [laughs]. I remember always loving music and being very sensitive to it, so much so that sometimes I’d be embarrassed about having emotional responses to it. For example, there was a time I went to a restaurant in LA with my family when I was young and “Imagine” by John Lennon came on and I visibly slammed from cheery into the most somber space.

Who are your musical inspirations?

I’m inspired by a mish-mash of artists. I love straight-ahead jazz. By age 10 I was into anything Native Tongues. DJ Premier, Ali Shaheed Muhammed and Pete Rock served my teen years well. I too am an avid follower of the church of J. Dilla. Roy Ayers opened up the way I listened to music. I covet Donny Hathaway’s vibrato. I dig Chopin and some Bartok because their compositions can get moody. Speaking of moody, loving James Blake right now! I like Stevie Wonder’s harmonic ideas and his lyrical concepts. I love Prince’s inventiveness…he’s such a killing writer. I love the Mizells. I’m intrigued by Carole King’s journey as a writer and artist. Then there’s Joni Mitchell, whose music I am pretttttttty much obsessed with. I can answer this question forever and a day…

How important is for you to perform live?  What you expect from the audience every time? Do you want to travel with your music all around the world, to meet new people and their culture?

Performing live is very important for me so I can get past a little hump I have called stage fright! Which is no fun. But it gets easier every time. I expect the audience to engage as I do. It’s a relationship: I give some, the audience gives some, and so on. A different spirit’s created at every show. And yes I love traveling and sharing my music with the world so I absolutely want to continue doing that.

Do you have a message for PopingCherry? Do you have something you want to share with us? A dream? An expectation? A promise for your future?

Yeah sure. I’ve got a friend who has the best quotes. Here are two that I’ve nicked from her that relate to each other I think. One is by Goethe and it goes “Whatever you can do or dream you can begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it”. And another’s by a writer named Ray Bradbury that goes “Living by faith is jumping off the cliff and building your wings on the way down”.

Sounds scary, but try it. I’m living proof that it isn’t so bad.

Visit Nia Andrews @ http://www.niaandrews.com

Follow her @ http://twitter.com/#!/niaandrews

Nia Andrews Gallery:

Like on facebook @ http://www.facebook.com/niaandrewsmusic?ref=ts

Watch Nia here:

Watch Nia here:

Thank you SO much for everything Nia Andrews!!!!

2 thoughts on “Exclusive Interview Nia Andrews: Performing live is a relationship! I expect the audience to engage as I do!

  1. Pingback: blog love from greece

Leave a Reply

