Exclusive Interview Nakia Henry: The only person stopping you from becoming the amazing person you want to be… Is you!

Listen the voices in your head. Can you hear the music? The passion? The truth? Can you feel the music? There are artists that can touch your heart, your mind, your body and your soul! One of them is Nakia Henry! Feel her passion, her music, her truth! She is talking… She is talking to Poping Cherry, She is talking to you! Listen to her! She said: I am made of love, I am made of light, I am stronger than I think I am, and so are you, REMEMBER THAT AND REMEMBER ME! You can’t forget her! (Interview: John Vlachogiannis)

Who is Nakia Henry?

A Creator and Co Creator.
An artist.
An Encouragor.
The Light.
A Conqueror.
Humble.
Honest.
Insecure.
A Beast.
A lover.
A friend.
Scared.
Courageous.
Loud.
Observant.
Honest.
Phil and Kay’s Daughter.
Melanie, Malkia, and Ryan’s Sister.
A Supporter and Lover of my friends.
A positive Detroit Representative.
A G.
“Bottom Line Honey, Numero. Uno!” (A reference from the wiz)

Your music is special. A touch of love, a piece of art. Your voice sounds as a fairytale. How important is music to you?

Music keeps me grounded. I am an artist of many sorts and with many tools, yet with music I am the freest. The voices in my head and heart are my favorite songs. When they are in harmony with one another I am at peace.

What inspires you to make music that can touch all of us?

I have no idea who my music is touching honestly. I began creating it for me. The more people let me know that they are connected or see themselves in my work, the more I am reminded that I am never alone. I am inspired by my unique perception and experiences in general… of my own and of others.

Your album “Remember Me” is Beautiful Music! How can you describe the album? How you felt during the making of it?

Thank you!

Its my vocal introduction to a world I only danced to in the past. It was written very much like and as a dancer. Something I wanted to move to. Rhythm heavy. Its a collection of stories, colors, moods, and sounds that I acquired over a 2-3 year span. I began my “adult” years in New Orleans, LA as a student at Dillard University and moved to NYC to finish school at Fordham. Was on Broadway in the Earth Wind and Fire inspired musical, Hot Feet as a dancer/ actor. And I fell in and out of love a few times in the process. This album is/was my heart through and through.

What is the most important moment for an artist?

The moment is different for each artist. I’d say either the moment where creating feels like play or the moment when you are excited to share and present your art. But I’d still say its different for every artist and there are lots of moments.

You enjoy most to create a new song or to be on stage?

I can’t choose between my youngest and my oldest child. 🙂 but if you made me, I’d say the stage because I’m comfortable on stage and I’m STILL creating. I’d also say the stage because I’m usually sharing and connecting with live bodies and hearts not conceptualized people in your head (the people you want to hear your music).

Do you like traveling and sing around the world?

Trick question. But I will answer yes.

Do you have a message for PopingCherry? Do you have something you want to share with us? A dream? An expectation? A promise for your future?  

The only person stopping you from becoming the amazing person you want to be… Is you.

Thank you PopingCherry for having me.
Thank you mama and daddy for having me.
Thank yall for coming out. God Bless you. Good Night.

Nakia Henry
Aka Mars Blackwoman

Visit Nakia Henry @ http://nakiahenry.com

Nakia Henry Gallery:

Download music:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/transition-remix-single/id459498678 

Watch Nakia here:

Free Music:

http://nakiahenry.bandcamp.com/track/love-letter-he-wants-me-to-win

Watch Nakia here:

Thank you So Much for everything Nakia Henry!!!!!

 

2 thoughts on “Exclusive Interview Nakia Henry: The only person stopping you from becoming the amazing person you want to be… Is you!

Leave a Reply

