Exclusive Interview Nuwamba: Life and relationships inspire me to write!

Sometimes you feel like you’re in heaven. You feel happy and you need to express your feelings! You are in the streets and you are listening a great song. You love the music, the lyrics, and the vibe! You love this artist because he speaks through your soul! He is Nuwamba whose name means November in the Nigerian language Hausa. He is an extraordinarily innovative artist and you can feel his passion, his power through his music!  Nuwamba is an adventurous artist and Poping Cherry is happy to have him here. He talks about his life and his music and you want to listen! Close your eyes and feel again the power of music! (Interview: John Vlachogiannis)

Who is Nuwamba?

Nuwamba is a soul-singer from Fort Worth, TX.  I am a father to two beautiful daughters.  I would consider myself a renaissance man and intellectual man who chooses to express myself through my music. I’m back to my music with a clear mind and a fresh perspective on what my new album, Unusual Takeover, will finally sound like- a mix of soul and R&B- appealing to an even broader audience, without completely abandoning the genre that’s brought me this far. In short, I plan topick up where I left off. At the end of the day, my job is to write and compose music that will move listeners.

How is to grow up in a house full of music? What do you remember most strongly from your home?

Growing up in a house of music was quite natural because being African –American growing up in the inner cities we listen to music to help with our woes in life.

I remember my mother on Saturday mornings playing her records. It was mostly Quincy Jones ,Anita Baker, Earth Wind & Fire, and Frankie Beverly &Mayes.  I remember trying to mimic those particular artists not actually knowing that I was really training my voice to sing.

What are your dreams and what are your fears? What you expect from the future? 

My dreams are to become a philanthropist, acitivist, and a socialite who expresses my concern for the world through my music and any other project I put my mind too.

My only fear is failure, that I will not be able to achieve all my goals.
In future, I expect to be put out more music, and globally trying to make a change in the world.

 Do you work on something new now?

Yes, I am currently working on my new single and it should be released in January.

Your music is really beautiful and addictive! How important is for you to create beautiful music? What inspires you to make music?

I think it is very important to write beautiful music because I want peoople to feel relaxed and gain a sense of calmness within their spirit.

Life and relationships inspire me to write.  Also things that may go on in my current environment.

Do you have a message for PopingCherry? Do you have something you want to share with us? A dream? An expectation? A promise for your future?

I would like to take the opportunity to thank all of you who bought my last CD “Above the water”, and if you haven’t heard it. Go buy it! Also, I hope you all enjoy “Unusual”, I had fun creating this sound, I’m getting my grown man on.  Go to  http://www.itunes.com/nuwamba and buy my music. Also look for more great music and the new album “Unusual Takeover” coming soon.

Visit Nuwamba @ http://www.myspace.com/nuwambamusic 

Follow Nuwamba: http://twitter.com/#!/NUWAMBA 

Nuwamba Gallery:

Watch Nuwamba here: 

Thank you  So much for everything Nuwamba!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

