Exclusive Interview AVA: I don’t think the universe makes mistakes!

As the day goes by I just need to escape from reality. I turn off the lights and I am listening to smooth, melodic tracks I love. My mind flies away, my heartbeat is stronger and I feel happy! I feel the Connection! Can you? I gave you everything you need to feel the power inside! Now I have a present for you! You love music just as I love music! Here is a fresh, talented artist who can help your dreams come true! Her name is AVA! She is awesome! Her first EP “Over The Ledge” is full with beautiful songs. Listen, feel and dream! Remember me every time you play her music, every time you feel her smooth power! AVA is here to share her music and her thoughts! Poping Cherry proudly presents you the new Progressive star of R&B!  Enjoy and feel the music! (Interview: John Vlachogiannis)

Who is AVA?

Ava:: singer, songwriter, southern belle, home girl, glam girl, lover dreamer believer… What’s in a name? The name “Ava” is derived from “Eve” which means “life, freedom and like a bird, just to name a few.  Ava takes this further with her own definition: “A Life of Freedom” which is something she hopes to convey in her music –  “It totally represents me, where I am in my life personally and musically and what I strive for. I have evolved some over the last several years. I am stronger, more in control and more “me” than I have ever been. I am learning and growing everyday and embracing the freedom to love (myself and others), the freedom to be myself, the freedom to not give a F*%$. The freedom to go where and do what I please. The freedom to create, to dream, and sing the songs I want to sing. The freedom to forgive, and the list can go on forever. I am at a point in my life where I don’t need permission or the approval of others. I am free from my former captivity. ” You might not know who Ava is yet, but you will. This songstress is the new R&B/Urban Alternative artist to watch this year! She fuses smooth, melodic yet soulful vocals with live instrumentation accented with quirky electronica that certainly puts her in a class of her own. With musical influences covering the scope of music from Sade, Prince, Phyllis Hyman and Michael Jackson to Teedra Moses, Beyonce and Aaliyah just to name a few, Ava is a musical force to be reckoned with and just might be the most played artist on your iPod in the very near future.

Minnesota native raised in Texas, Ava moved to New York City after college to pursue her singing career. With just $500 in her pocket and no industry connections, she began to make the rounds amongst the New York artist circuit, singing at artist showcases, R&B legends Nick Ashford & Valerie Simpson’s Sugar Bar and performing at every open mic night that she could get to. Her hard work paid off when she was given the opportunity to tour as a back-up singer with Grammy Award winning Def Jam Recording artist Chrisette Michele along side Musiq Soulchild on the “LuvanMusiq” tour and Raheem Devaughn on the “The Art of Love” tour.

Fast forward to 2012: Ava has just released her first solo album, ‘OVER THE LEDGE’, and currently spends her days modeling, working at a busy fashion firm as a photo shoot producer and dedicates support to a creative executive to earn extra income. By night she is back on the grind, working towards her dream job: sharing her music with the world.

Your EP “ Over the Ledge” is dynamic, beautiful, melodious and covered with a beautiful voice! Music is a beautiful journey for the listeners. What inspires you to make music that can touch all of us?

Life is my biggest inspiration. It’s that simple and maybe even a little cliche but it’s true! I write about things going on in my life as well as those around me. My feelings, aspirations, hopes and desires are all fair game. Everything. Nothing is safe. I have to get it out one way or another or I would probably go crazy! So writing and singing about it seems to be the best release for me. I feel like we all go through similar things so hopefully the music can touch and inspire else’s life as well.

What do you remember most strongly from your childhood? What were your dreams back then? What are your fondest musical memories? What to expect in the future from you?

I remember choir class. I grew up in choir, not the church choir, but school choir (yes, I’m a choir geek at heart). It was something I loved and lived for! Solo and ensemble competitions, the school talent shows, singing the national anthem before basketball games are some of my fondest childhood musical memories. I grew up singing everything from classical to pop. I remember 90s R&B which I am still obsessed with to this day!

My dreams back then are not much different from my dreams now: I wanted to be a global super star, tour the world and perform with a huge band in a ball gown. I wanted to sound just like Celine Dion and Whitney Houston one day. Oh, and CoCo from SWV and Aaliyah! And then Destiny’s Child came out and I wanted to be sassy, strong and independent just like they were!  I always wanted to be an inspiration through music, especially to young girls.

The future? You can expect to hear new music from me this year as well as a US tour. Some videos are in the works as well, the first one will be for “The Pain of It” (Remix) which is being shot this month.  I will also be doing some print modeling as well so look out, you just might see me in some ad campaigns soon.

What is the most important moment for an artist? You enjoy most to create a new song or to be on stage? What are your dreams for the future and what you fear?

The most important moment for me as an artist was when I realized my dream could be my reality. Or not that it could, but it had to be. At that moment I made a commitment to it. As soon as I finished college I moved to NYC  to make it happen. I didn’t know how it would happen exactly, but knowing it would happen as long as I positioned myself for it and worked hard was enough for me. I enjoy both creating and live performing equally for different reasons. I enjoy the journey and the process of creating a song. It is very therapeutic for me. Creating a song organically is pure magic. It can’t be explained any other way. Then on the other hand I enjoy the energy and pure adrenaline of live performing. I guess if I had to choose one I would say being on stage because of the energy the fans give back. You don’t get that in the studio. But both really are amazing.

My dreams for the future: to continue to make music and to reach a broader audience, a global audience. I want to touch and inspire others so we can all share a life of freedom. I would love to tour all over the world, connect with people everywhere, share my story and hear the stories of others. Working with Prince and Sade on music would also be a dream come true, my life would be close to complete!

My fears: Other than being afraid of spiders, lol,  I don’t really have any fears. I guess I could be concerned about my place in the mainstream music industry with R&B music being on the verge of extinction and the emergence of the super edgy auto-tuned music generation that I am so not a part of! Truth is, I am not sure where I fit in this industry but fitting in has never really been a focus of mine, it has always been about the music, so I won’t start now.

Do you have a message to share with PopingCherry and all the people that love your voice and your music? How important is for you to know that there are people that loves you?

Ava’s Advice:

Don’t give up on your dreams. If you have a dream in your heart, don’t let it die. I don’t care how old you are, how broke you are or how many people have told you to give up. Keep at it. I am a living example. I don’t think the universe makes mistakes. That dream was put in your heart for a reason so go after it.

Don’t be afraid to be yourself either, be the best YOU that you can be. Originality and authenticity is key and the best contribution you can give, not striving to fit into what’s trendy or edgy at the moment. No one in this world can contribute what you have to offer because there is only one you, so show who you really are, we don’t need a million of the same thing.

Thank you:

I also just want to say thank you to everyone that supports what I am doing. I make music because it is something I love. I sing because I love the way it makes me feel. I do it because I have to. I would be doing this anyway but it feels good knowing that other people appreciate it and can take something from it.

Visit AVA @ http://iheartavamusic.com/ 

AVA Gallery

Download AVA’s debut solo EP “Over the Ledge” NOW for free:

http://avamusic.bandcamp.com

Download AVA’s single “The Pain of It” on iTunes NOW:

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-pain-of-it-single/id406441522

Watch AVA here:

Thank you SO much for everything (amazing) AVA! ! I feel the Connection! Thank you!

                       

Leave a Reply

