Exclusive Interview Baiyu: I promise that I will only sing to you songs from my heart!

In the woods the sun shines and the light comes through a cherry tree. There are cherries all over the grass, red on the fresh green. I see a Unicorn, a myth is coming true, I call him and he is coming. I can see his beauty, that mythical greatness I was reading in the books. I offer cherries and he is eating slowly with pride! The next minute I see her coming. She is beautiful, dressed in red, she is wearing a red hat and I believe that today all the fairy tales are coming to meet me! Is she the Red Riding Hood? No! She is the Hunter in red! She chases life, truth, not the animals! She is the Hunter of Life! Do you want to meet her? Then take a number! If you come back to reality then you will see her on youtube! She is beautiful, stylish, and sexy! She is a new icon with substance, a role mode of life! She is blessed with talent and true humanity! She creates art, she is a Beautiful Artist! Her music, her poetry, her graphic novels, her animated short movies are coming to inspire you! That’s why you need to be by her side! She is working for a better world, she is ready to create, to inspire, to make you feel happy, strong, ready for the next step! If I can see a Unicorn under a cherry tree is because Baiyu helped my mind, my soul, my ability to dream, to think, to live! Dreams are made of soul! Baiyu is a Beautiful Artist who can change your soul! Are you ready to create your dreams? Baiyu is ready to help you! Poping Cherry proudly presents you a complete, marvelous, unique artist! So happy to have Baiyu here! Enjoy her Art! Her Beautiful Art! (Interview: John Vlachogiannis)

Who is Baiyu?

Baiyu is a soulful songstress who isn’t afraid to express herself wholly through music, dance and her personal style.  She is forever on the search to create and reinvent; and in the process, define and redefine who she is as an artist.

Music is the rhythm to my heartbeat and I always want to follow new inspired artists. I took a number and I discovered you! What means music to you? How important is to inspire people with your music?

Music to me is just another way to communicate with others.  You know how they say that about 50% of face to face communication is verbal and the rest is physical?  Performance and song I feel like takes you to that place that blends words with intentions and what’s cerebral with the physicality of expression to really speak to others in a way that they better understand where you’re coming from.  For me, it’s not as important in a more direct way that I inspire others, as much as that I am being truthful to myself.  I believe that when you are sharing something that is authentic to your own voice and your personal experiences, others can’t help but find a hint of inspiration and connection to what you have to say.

As a sensitive human/artist your music allowed you to contribute the proceeds of your EP to the Japanese Tsunami relief efforts. Is music a medicine to the world? Do you feel that you can change this ugly world to a beautiful place?

I think everything is about intention.  Just as not all stories are written with the same intent and the same words even if they may all finally be bound into books, thus is true with music as well.  I definitely think that music has the capacity to heal, and that its influence goes beyond the surface, but at the same time, it takes all of us to want to love each other and to feel the desire to give back that we can really start to rebuild and to heal.

Do you work on something new now?

My new project entitled Hunter is coming out in the middle of June and will be a full LP this time around.  I’m still staying true to my R&B roots, but on this project, my sound and the content of my songs are a lot more mature creatively.  I’ve definitely begun to settle into myself as an artist and I believe that this project really proves this.  I’m also coming out with a book of poetry by that same name, and will also be releasing a graphic novel trilogy along with an accompanying animated short before the end of the summer as well.

What do you remember most strongly from your childhood? Do you feel that music was always your destination?

There’s no doubt in my mind that the most vivid memories of my childhood involve one of 2 things—eating some crazy delicious local cuisine in my hometown of Xiamen, China and also listening to my mom sing as she would glide around the house.  I always knew that music was my passion, even if I wasn’t always sure if it was my destination.  Growing up as a first generation immigrant, you realize how hard your parents worked, and even how hard you had to work to get yourself to where you need to be.  Everyone knows that the entertainment industry comes with no guarantees, but at the same time, there’s a part of me that screams: someone’s got to do it, and if you don’t, then there’s a million others that are willing to step up.  If there’s one thing that I’ve learned, it’s to be persistent.  That’s the only way hard work pays off.

Do you have a message for PopingCherry and all the people that love your voice and your music? Do you have something you want to share with us? A dream? An expectation? A promise for your future?

I want to share with you my voice, in the form of daydreams and both failed and exceeded expectations.  I promise that I will only sing to you songs from my heart, and all I can hope for in return is that you are open to listening to my story.

Visit @ http://www.baiyuonline.com/

Baiyu Gallery

Watch “Take A Number”

Watch “Invisible” ft. Rotimi

Thank you SO MUCH for everything Baiyu (If I can see a Unicorn under a cherry tree is because you can inspire me with you Beautiful Art)!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Exclusive Interview Baiyu: I promise that I will only sing to you songs from my heart!

Leave a Reply

