Exclusive Interview Keeda: I used to perform on top of the coffee table to my imaginary audience!

Keeda 1

She now passes the red carpet, she comes out of the big door and everyone is applauding! She is not Cinderella and she is not wearing a shoe, does not care for any magic pumpkin. She is a subversive princess! She changed the rules and she knows how to sing, to dance, and to act…. She is our version of a fairy tale! Poping Cherry proudly presents Keeda! (Interview: John Vlachogiannis)

I think I see your face everywhere… but tell me… Who is Keeda?

Keeda is the alter ego of Kat Risteska. You may have seen me in the 2009 Season 2 of SYTYCD Australia where I made the top 6 finalists. I have also appeared on the ABC Series Dance Academy Season 1 & 2 as guest as Kaylah a hard core hip hop chick. I am a singer/dancer/ actress.

Let’s Rock with You! Music is a miracle! What inspires you to create?

Whatever I’m feeling at a certain time,or what I see others going through, or movies I watch these are things that inspire me.

What makes you feel brighter?

Music and dance always lift my spirit up. This is always what I turn to when I’m in a mood haha.

You are a finalist in the prestigious International Songwriting Competition. There were over 20 ,000 entries this year and you are Top 16 in the Pop/Top 40 Category! What an honour! How do you feel about this?

I’ve entered these sorts of competitions before and have done well but never got this far before so when I found out I was in the top 16 of my category I was over the moon. I then went on to find out I was up against some of my idols Guy Sebastian and Kimbra. I’m just really grateful and blessed to have got this far with some of the most inspirational artist that I look up to.

Flowers, animals, children… World is a mystery… Do you feel that life is a dangerous game?

I don’t feel life is a dangerous game. A favorite saying if mine is “Life is not a problem to be solved, but a mystery to be lived.” I look at it as an incredible journey.

Do you feel that music is the safety net?

Not at all. There is no ‘Safety net’ in the entertainment industry. You throw yourself in the deep end and only hope you won’t get eaten by the sharks haha.  Music/Dance and Acting is what I love. And I’m just so blessed to be able to say I get to wake up everyday and I actually look forward to work. I have heard many people say to me that music helps them get through their hard times so I suppose it can be like a safety net…

How can you describe your childhood? A little girl playing with her friends? A little star doing her own concerts in her lounge room?

Well I was definitely a little girl who played with her friends although by friends I mean the ones I made up in my head. I used to have tea parties with all my ‘Friends’ and put on concerts and pretend I was massive artist. I used to perform on top of the coffee table to my imaginary audience.

Can you talk me about the future?

I’m not too sure what the future holds for me I’m just living each day and working really hard at creating the future I’d like which is to be touring, holding my on concerts. The dream is to be an international recording artist.  I would also love to be involved in some great films in the future as I also love my acting. If JLo & Janet can do it … it’s possible 🙂

Do you feel special? Do you believe that you are here to inspire the world?

Haha.. I’ve always felt a little out of place or like I didn’t fit in. But I do believe everyone has a purpose and gift and I do believe mine are in the Arts yes 🙂

http://www.keedamusic.com/

https://twitter.com/keedamusic

Keeda 2

Keeda 3

Thanks for the alternative story! Life is beautiful when you live intensely! Thank you Keeda!

One thought on “Exclusive Interview Keeda: I used to perform on top of the coffee table to my imaginary audience!

  1. Pingback: Keeda is ready to take Control! | popingcherry

Leave a Reply

