Exclusive Interview Aisha Eustache: Love and family is what makes my life complete!

Aisha Eustache 1

I saw a little house in the woods. It’s made of sugar, wood and strongly colours. It looks like a big dollhouse. On the front door I see a little fox. She seems to be happy. She is looking at me and she speaks: “Don’t be afraid. I am real. As you can see the best things in life are those you discover by your own. I am just a happy fox. Follow your dreams and believe. Then you will be happy too”! As I am living her house I am listening a song: “Faithful” by Aisha Eustache. Her voice is smooth, beautiful, and potential… feels like a heart beat! I discovered a new voice! Now I can share this voice with you! Aisha Eustache is talking to Poping Cherry and I am so happy for this! Share this moment with us! (Interview: John Vlachogiannis)

Who is Aisha Eustache?

A country girl with a big heart, living in the city that never sleeps, chasing dreams.

Love & Addiction is your first EP. How can you describe the songs and the making of the EP? Are you addicted to love?

The making of this EP was very therapeutic, as I was trying to find my way back to authenticity.  The songs were written on the couch in my Brooklyn apartment, sometimes at 4 in the morning, sometimes in the middle of the afternoon.  They are about loyal, healthy, loving relationships and the darker side of human nature and addictive tendencies.  Being in the studio was a huge learning process, as it is my first time tracking with a live band, and being involved in not only the creative process, but the production aspects, as well.  I was really blessed to be supported by a group of amazing musicians and engineers. I am very addicted to my guys lovin’.  Love and family is what makes my life complete.

Are you ready to be the next music addiction to the world?

I can’t wait to see how the world responds to my music!  Being the next music addiction to the world would be a dream, let’s order that shiz up!

Who are the artists that influenced your life and music?

I started listening to Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Mahalia Jackson, Poison and Guns n Roses when I was around 6 years old.  In high school I went thru a serious grunge phase and was very influenced by the cranberries, Shirley Manson, and Kurt Cobain.  In college and beyond, I got into soul and r&b:  artist like Stevie Wonder, Roberta Flack, Donnie Hathaway, Marvin Gaye, The Delfonics, Prince, Sade, and India Arie (she’s my soul sister) have greatly influenced my artistry.  I could go on and on, but ain’t nobody got time for that, lol.

How can you describe your childhood and your family? Little Aisha believed in fairy tales? 

Growing up in Oklahoma afforded me a wonderful childhood.  I was raised by a single mother, my grandmother, and grandfather.  I was gifted with a home that held 3 generations of a family tree.  My grandfather was a minister, so I have always had a deep rooted sense of spirituality.  I rode bikes with my cousins, sang in the children’s choir, played in the red dirt, gazed at the clouds and the stars.  I was afforded the luxury of living in a town where we didn’t have to lock our front door, waved at our neighbors, had bbq’s, supported the local football team and the fine arts.  My life was my fairy tale.  I have always had huge dreams and started asserting my self to achieve them when I told my mother I wanted to do Miss Petite Oklahoma at 6yrs old.  She let me do it, but didn’t take off work or buy me any new clothes.  My grandparents took me and I won, the rest is history…

Can you remember the first time you realized that music is your destination?

I have had a deep love affair with music my entire life.  Before I could speak words, I was driving my family crazy humming tunes.  I have made up songs ever sense I can remember doing anything.  I had a beige and brown fisher price tape recorder that I carried everywhere with me, recording myself singing my tunes.  I was a mess!!!!  Still am…

Do you have a message/a secret to share with Poping Cherry?

If there is anything this journey of life has taught me it is this: hold on to your dreams.  Fight for what you love. And most importantly believe in yourself.

https://www.facebook.com/aishaeustachemusic

https://twitter.com/AishaEustache

Aisha Eustache 2

Thank you so much for the inspiration Aisha Eustache!

Leave a Reply

