Exclusive Interview Aris: We need more love and more light, and I hope to bring some of that to the table!

6p_Wallet_1pkt_Outside

I have locked up my sky. I kept the stars just to create my own Astral Symphony. Blessed be she said and she disappeared. She becomes a light to dark. Then I heard her scream from the opposite side of my sky. I pray for all the lost souls in this Twilight. I close my eyes and I travel through a voice. He is Aris. He is a music Savior. And he comes to pray for change! Poping Cherry proudly presents a really unique artist! Say Hallelujah! (Interview: John Vlachogiannis)

While searching your inner world and pondering about your journey so far in life and music, who do you think is Aris?

I’m an explorer… forever curious about life. I’m a lover. I’m a rocker. I’m a soul singer. I’m a staunch activist. I’m adventurous. I’m a survivor. I’ve pulled myself up and out of some very difficult times.  I’m a healer.  I’m an old soul with a big heart.

Your new album “Twilight Revival” is a mishmash of powerful tunes and lyrics. Songs that are shaking the listener. How can you describe the sound of the album? What means this album to you?

My new album “Twilight Revival” is a mix of rock, soul, folk and EDM. I grew up in New York City, a city filled with so much diversity. That variety of flavor can be felt in all the music you hear walking down the streets of the city. Within one block you can hear dance, rock, pop, folk, jazz, r&b and Doo-wop. The lines between musical genres blend smoothly and harmoniously in a magical way. This very much influenced the way I make my music, and is reflected on my new album. From the club-rock-thumping opening track “Twilight”, to the campfire folk-rock closing track “Revival”, through the bonus tracks on deluxe digital edition, I wanted to take the listener on a journey of celebration, realization, exploration and emotional release. The album to me is like a very intimate journal. I wrote a lot of these songs as messages of hope for myself, while going through some of the hardest times of my life, like some very painful breakups, and the loss of my mother.

How does the music affect the masses? What is the mission of an artist?

I set out to lift people up through dark times, to bring messages of strength, faith and perseverance to the world.  We are facing some really tough times on our planet and in our society, and being challenged in a never-ending onslaught of physical, emotional and spiritual ways.  We need more love and more light, and I hope to bring some of that to the table.

Being an artist is a blessing or a curse?

It’s a blessing for sure! It’s a place of understanding and healing. For me it’s an outlet for channeling my emotions, my dreams, my frustrations, my passions, my desires.  It’s a very special way of connecting with the world.  It’s my living journal. It can be a curse only if you let the art consume you or affect you in a negative way. It’s only been a blessing to me thus far, even when it’s presented unexpected and overwhelming challenges.

What inspires you and puts you in the process of making music? What makes your imagination run wild?

I’m inspired by life… by studying people, by nature! I love Documentaries, moving images & editorial photography. The unlimited potential of the future makes my mind run wild! The world is changing so fast and we are on the verge of so many incredible technological discoveries that can cure disease, extend out lifespan, 3D print food, and make traveling to distant parts of space and back possible. It’s exciting! I’m also really inspired and influenced by the challenges our planet faces, like environmental issues, social issues. My song “Pray for Change” was inspired by the largest food program in New York City, Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen. I featured them in the music video for the song.   This organization is amazing. They serve over a thousand meals a day all year round to people in need. Very inspiring!

What makes you say Hallelujah?

My song “Hallelujah” has me saying it and singing it a lot! That song is all about finding a silver lining in every cloud and being grateful and appreciative for the current moment. It’s about getting in touch with your inner self, and having a heart to heart with your spirit. It’s about feeling joy and passion in life!!  I say “Hallelujah” when my soul is touched… like when I hear an amazing speech about social progress. I also say “Hallelujah” when eating a delicious cheeseburger & french fries!

Which is your message to Poping Cherry?

My message for Poping Cherry is – Celebrate your life! Love one another. Find joy and gratitude in the small things. Set goals and build your future out of the blueprint of your dreams.

 http://aris.fm

http://twitter.com/arisziagos

http://facebook.com/arismusic

Aris 1

Aris 2

The deluxe edition of “Twilight Revival” now available on iTunes worldwide

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/twilight-revival-deluxe-edition/id694801200

You came to save the day! Thank you for everything Aris!

Leave a comment